The LOSER’s LIMP

For the past couple of weeks I have been having my fair share of trials and tribulations. I’ve essentially been busy being busy and not fully executing on the tasks I’ve set for myself to reach specific goals that are important to my personal and professional life. Basically two weeks have passed since I made an agreement with myself on what needs to be done in order for me to get where I want to get, and I didn’t realize until recently what I was doing specifically and what was really going on internally that was keeping me in this mode for the past three weeks, until of course my Fiancé asked me, “So how are those plans coming along…you know, those plans you shared with me the other day and set for yourself?” and naturally, I answered hesitantly, “uuhhhmm,… well, I am doing good everything is coming along, EXCEPT, I can’t really move forward UNTIL I am absolutely sure this is the right approach, so I am going to WAIT till next week…just to be sure …” Well, I pulled the wool over her eyes and appeased her for the moment. However it was almost instantly after I did so, that I said to myself in this realization, “Wait a minute… this is a LOSER’S LIMP.” I was pretending I had a good reason for why I wasn’t doing the very things that I knew I could do, the things that I knew I should do. I read about this….this is what ole Zig Ziglar was talking about in his book See You at the Top.  I’ll actually quote him verbatim because it’s a superb anaology, one I didn’t think I could be guilty of, especially since I was aware of it….so here it is:

“Characteristically, when a person falls victim to Garbage Dump Thinking, he develops an assortment of “Loser’s Limps.” You know what the Loser’s Limp is if you’ve ever attended a football game or watched one on television. The offensive player slips behind the defensive player, reaches up, pulls in a pass and heads for the end zone. The defensive man quickly recovers and takes out in hot pursuit. When the offensive player gets about 20 yards from the end zone, the defensive player realizes he’s not going to catch the man with the ball. Everybody in the stands knows it too. So, the defensive player frequently pulls up limping and the people in the stands say, “Well, no wonder the poor guy couldn’t catch him. Look, he’s crippled.” Now that is his Loser’s Limp. What is yours?”

I figure we all have these Loser’s Limps, some are big ones, some are small ones. I obviously just realized I have some small ones of my own that I really need to take care of. So I am definitely going to make it a priority to work on them, because I don’t want to be “that person” who makes excuses or who others will make excuses for. So what I am planning on doing…actually, I should say, what I AM GOING TO DO to help me with this minor limp, is print out on a sheet of paper an exceptional quote that I captured three days ago from one of my favorite books, and proceed to hang that quote above my study room, so everyday I will be reminded that I have the choice to correct my Loser’s Limp. Curtains please…….

“If you neglect to make the start, or stop before you arrive, no one will be to blame but you. This responsibility is yours. No alibi will save you from accepting the responsibility if you now fail or refuse to DEMAND riches or success from life.” – N. Hill

So in my learning that we all have Loser’s Limps I don’t think I will ask you if you have one, but what I will ask is; What is yours…and will YOU do anything to correct it?

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “The LOSER’s LIMP

  1. Adam says:

    I must say, that I “pulled a hammy” this morning which kept me from initiating a task that I know will be “enduring”. Its time to take control and make the decisions needed to ensure I dont coast along and get bumpped like a pinball by just going with the flow and never starting the race, thus never reaching a running pace. Cant neglect the start and expect to finish. Here we go!

  2. There we go…. put some icy hot on that bad boy and get back out there and make some things happen!

Leave a Reply

