What’s Wrong With Success?

You know… I have been thinking a lot lately about how challenging it is to find other people who are passionate about their possibilities….passionate about making a difference….about succeeding in an extraordinary way in the world today.  I mean don’t get me wrong, I know there are plenty of people out there who have worked hard to get a decent job, get paid pretty well, and even have an occupation they love, and I don’t mean to take that away from anybody…but is not the success I am talking about.  That type of success is typical…it’s predictable, and in the overall scheme of things….it’s easy, not to mention very ubiquitous.  Who I am talking about here, are the people with fire in their bellies.  I am talking about the people who look at succeeding as a virtue and not as a vice?  The people who are excited to see what they can do with this thing called life.  People who want to not only see how far they can go, but also, how far you can go.  Where are these people?  Have they all been scared away into hiding!?

It’s really odd, and I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been exposed to people whose credo was “que sera sera” or “if you are trying…you are trying too hard.”  I mean what kind of bunk is this?  When did striving to be our best become so undesirable?  When did people start believing that being a go-getter, a risk taker, was incompatible with being compassionate, socially conscious, or good?

And the naysayers!   Wow…there’s no shortage of them.  You would think that there was some special/secret “discouragement fraternity” where being a charter member was something to be celebrated.  You know who I am talking about….those people who want to keep you in their own comfort zone.   Of course I don’t want to be harsh…I do understand that it’s not that this group doesn’t want you to be successful. They just don’t want you to be more successful than they are.   Are you starting to get the picture?…..When did complacency become in vogue?

Here is a thought.  If I were to come up to you at your workplace or your home and say “You ready?…let’s go do it…let’s go change the world! Let’s go create your destiny!”  What would you do?  Would you look up at me like I was crazy…and say, “uhhhh, no thanks”? Or would you say…”let’s go do it…let’s go put a dent in the universe Nate?”  Statistically, many people would be the former…of course It’s my hope that you’d be the latter.

I know, I know…”but success is subjective” one might say.   It’s true it is…but I feel that there is a universal quality that can be applied to this thing called success…and here it is….”It’s the progressive realization of a worthwhile goal, while making a difference in the lives of others”.  Would you agree?  Well here’s a quote from one of my favorite Leaders/Entrepreneurs that is worth the read especially if you have a little voice popping up in your head right about now telling you that I am full of “it”….so here it is, Robin Sharma says  “I have a sense that the best part of you will feel a little hollow. Part of what makes us human is the hunger to realize our greatest gifts and live life fully. We were built to shine. And without significance, I believe that we will feel that we have walked the planet in vain.”….gosh I love this guy!    So, hey…I guess it’s okay if you choose to walk this life in vain, I’d hate to see it happen, but if does, please let’s not pretend that to do so is honorable, and then cast a shadow on success as if there was something wrong with it.  There’ s nothing wrong with success, just like there’s nothing wrong with leaving the world in a better condition than you found it.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “What’s Wrong With Success?

  1. Adam says:

    Can somebody ask Obama to use this as his next speech to the people… This is what Americans, more so humans need to hear! Great stuff, really great stuff

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by e_Entrepreneur: New Post on The Educated Entrepreneur’s Blog: “WHAT’S WRONG WITH SUCCESS?” http://wp.me/polPi-bv

Leave a Reply

