Mastering Mountains

This post serves to compliment my last two posts…and well many of the other posts that have been weaved throughout this blog that have been a type of  nudge from me to you  to grow…to change.  I think it’s appropriate for me to post this now because, let’s face it…I ask a lot of you.  I know I throw a lot of ideas and challenges out there to you that aren’t necessarily your everyday habits, and so I definitely understand that they are not easy to consider, let alone do.

So think of this post as your hiking gear to go along with all the “mountains” I’ve pointed out to you.  What I’ll stress first is this idea of not shrugging off ideas, activities, or goals that seem too hard to initiate, or from retreating from your challenge, your “mountain”, all because it looks too high or seems too difficult.  For instance, a couple of posts ago…I suggested being positive all the time as a way to live better, be happier, and to live a healthier life.  Of course I know it would be tough to automatically be “that” supercharged positive person starting tomorrow.  So if you decide to do it…will you be that person tomorrow?  No, but you’ll be closer.  Should you still try?  Yes!  Another example I suggested was journaling everyday, morning and night as a good practice to learn more, learn quicker, and to grow and become more at an exponential rate.  Do I think you will be writing five pages and have a completely revolutionized life by tomorrow?   No, not necessarily.  Do I think it’s a great idea and that you should strive for it?  Absolutely…no doubt!

I guess there are two things to really keep in mind when considering not just my recommendations, but anyone’s, or in starting anything new for that matter.  The first thing is….to start, and the second is…. to take small steps.

If you actually give your toughest challenges a try and pay attention…you will see, oddly, that there really is some type of magical power behind just starting.  What happens is….a momentum is created and shortly thereafter with enough persistence… the positive results begin to show up.  It’s Crazy!  Perhaps this is what Johan Wolfgang Von Goethe meant when he said:  “Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it…boldness has genius power and magic in it”.

And then of course, there is the second thought to keep in mind when you are about to make some changes….and that is….take small steps, even baby steps if you have to.  The idea is to just start moving in a determined fashion towards your end point.  It always seems to work for the tortoise; it’s been working for the people who have achieved greatly…why couldn’t it work for you?  I’ll bet this is exactly what Confucius had in mind when he made his famous quote:  “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” 

So..as much as I like to challenge you I am sure life likes to do it a whole lot more.  If you remember these two points I’ll bet your chances of surmounting those challenges, of mastering your mountains…. will go way up!  Give it a try…..Good luck!

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Mastering Mountains

  1. sean says:

    nice one bro. I’ve been feeling paraylized recently with this huge task ahead, but sometimes you have to “just do it”

  2. I find your post very interesting! I believe these ideas would serve as a guide on how to have an effective goal.

    http://growingwithtruth.com/blog/110/strategies-to-create-effective-goals/

Leave a Reply

