Entrepreneurs Must Turn Experiences into Equity

I journal somewhat religiously every morning….writing down how I feel, what I think, and about all the wonderful things I hope the day has in store for me.  And sometimes I’ll even jot down some of the newest and most novel ideas I’ve come across.  It is a good practice and I really like doing it. Here’s the thing, up until recently I would say I wasn’t 100% sure why I was doing it.  I mean I’ve always heard of the importance of jotting down your thoughts in a journal and how “great” it can be for you, but I’ve never truly made the connection as to why it was so important.  In reality I was really writing to track the progression and change in my thoughts/myself as time went by.  I mean I’ve been keeping a journal now since 2002 and I’ll tell you, it is pretty darn amusing to read how and what I thought all those years ago.  So it’s been worth it for entertainment’s sake.

Amazingly this past week I formed a new perspective regarding journaling. It was t

his idea of writing to learn, and not just to learn what has changed with the passing of time, or how entertaining my life has been, but to learn what the day had to teach.  To test this idea I became like a sponge on this initial day, and soaked in all that I had experienced to see what I could extract from my observations, to see what I could extract from life.  Typically, I was writing one page per day, however with this new approach I was writing four to five pages.  So what struck me the most was a realization of how much actually goes on in one single day.  I mean the first day I took this perspective my mind was almost overwhelmed with all the activities, opportunities, color, smells, and occurrences that took place in that one single day!  The most exciting part though…was that all of those experiences were beckoning me and challenging me to learn from it.  I felt a pull and a tug towards growth!  In all seriousness…one could probably write a “book of the day” if they paid enough attention to it.

Of course the really important part of all of this observation is focusing and paying attention to what you wrote down, pondering what worked, what didn’t, what one wanted to avoid, or what one wanted to repeat and to grow from.  The benfefit of all of this?…to use these experiences as a spring board for up and coming, yet similar experiences… so that they can be that much richer, that much more polished, that much more valuable.  You see experience can become a commodity, a currency, coin, it can be used.  It’s simply amazing when you think about… it’s like sifting for GOLD!  I am convinced that we can if we wish to….turn experience into equity.  So I challenge you to test the waters today…to go from a perspective of just getting through the day, to one that dares you to see what you can get from the day.

I can’t wait to hear your results.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Entrepreneurs Must Turn Experiences into Equity

  1. parententrepreneur says:

    Fantastic post! Your last full sentence was a quotable. Go ahead and Tweet that.
    Everything you wrote opens the door to specifically observing the thoughts/actions that have a negative ROI, tossing them out and seeking out new thoughts/actions to plug into your day to get a better ROI. Journal writing can make you more profitable!
    I’ll check back for more. Thanks, TLyn

  2. […] So for starters… I actually took some time off this year from my time off…and I mean serious time… to review the previous year. I earnestly pondered for just about two whole days all the happenings, the actions I did or didn’t take, their respective outcomes, and the many feelings I felt and how they changed as the year progressed.  It was a truly fantastic experience for me and I believe it is a practice that I will now be continuing to do from this year forward. I highly recommend it! […]

Leave a Reply

