The Terror Barrier

I went to an event last week where I had the pleasure of seeing Bob Proctor, a 75 yr old millionaire and world renowned entrepreneur who carries himself like a youthful 25yr old.

It was a pretty phenomenal experience and EXTREMELY valuable, and I stress extremely because I personally walked away with powerful ideas and insights from an event which usually costs anywhere from $500 – $1,000 all for free!!!

One of the main ideas that I walked away with and really want to share with you, was this idea of the “Terror Barrier”.  An imaginary barrier that many have but probably won’t experience until they try to achieve something great.  If you are one of those who have ever been on the hunt of bigger and better things you probably have very intimate knowledge of what I am talking about.  So, this barrier usually appears when we are just about to make some critical gains in our endeavoring that would definitely set us apart from the also-rans, but….we stop short.  And of course this happens because of an internal block or fear we have, or because of a rule or paradigm which is programmed deep within us.  The barrier manifests itself in self-sabotage, excuse making, circular arguments or rationalizing with ourselves as to why we aren’t doing or can’t do the activities absolutely necessary for our break through towards our success.

So, what’s the solution?  Well, it’s a change in your mental paradigm so you can ultimately change your behaviors.  How do you change your paradigm?  Change your thinking!  How do you change your thinking?  First……START THINKING, (and it’s important you don’t mistake mental activity for thinking), then decide to change what you put into your mind.  Learn, Grow, Challenge yourself and in so doing be selective and very vigilant with what you read, watch, listen to, and then of course with what you think.  It’s as simple as that.

[Disclaimer – This post is written soley for those interested in doing extraordinary things.  If this is not you, please disregard NOW.  This post will self-destruct in 25 seconds……no not really, :)  I hope you are smiling!]

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The Terror Barrier

  1. Marie says:

    This is so very ture! Thank you for such insight.

  2. Anytime, and anything for you🙂

  3. andrew says:

    Hi Nate (i think your name is Nate?)

    this fear barrier… i’ve been staring at it for a couple of months now. I run my own computer service business, and compared to my own goals am achieving success, but I see an exciting potential that I am self-sabotaging against.

    I think that it’s because my whole life has been stamped with mediocrity and coasting, and I’ve never really experienced huge-scale success. Maybe it’s discomfort? Will I be uncomfortably successful?

    I feel the pressure on all sides: I must excel because my character requires it. I must excel to validate my wife’s hard work in supporting my business startup. I must excel to provide better services for my clients… And for a couple of months I feel that I have let everyone down, including myself.

    Thanks for this post, dated as it is, and maybe you won’t even ever see my comment. But thank you anyways. I think the hardest part of being an entrepreneur is being alone–I work alone, I think alone. Tonight I know there are other people out there just like me…

  4. You are not alone my friend! Keep fighting the good fight. The toll we must all pay for the success we seek is stress, frustration, loneliness, and never ending courage in the face of defeat.

Leave a Reply

