Wages Vs. Profits

profits

A mentor of mine, Jim Rohnwho I’ve been following for a couple of years now, uttered a phrase that caught my attention, more so than usual while studying  him recently.   He had such a strong and significant impact on me  on the day that I heard him say “profits are better than wages. Wages will make you a living, profits can make you a fortune.”

I found the phrase sage like.  I remember repeating what he said to myself  and then thinking about how truly difficult  it most likely is to get rich on just wages alone, and how readily profits can be made if we focus our efforts on accumulating them.  It was a pretty outstanding moment of clarity for me, and I still get the goose bumps whenever I think about it!

Following that phrase,   Jim Rohn went on to make a point about how profits  can actually change your whole attitude, even if you start part-time.  I really warmed up to his suggestion, and perhaps you will too, because he states that it doesn’t matter if it’s part-time on your entrepreneurial business,  your network marketing company, or your service business.

To Jim it didn’t matter.  To him it could be a real estate business, a tutoring business as a teacher, a website design business, a landscaping business in the summer, a consulting practice, woodworking, or a hobby,  heck, he even goes so far as to mention a business of hanging Christmas lights in the winter.   The magic he says, comes from the moment you start investing effort part-time into your own business, because it is then, that you will find how much more exciting it is to get up in the morning, look in the mirror, and go to work on your fortune, even if it is only a small portion of your schedule,… something like 10 – 15 hours per week.

How empowering  would it be, to be able to go to work on your fortune every single day rather than going to work to just pay the rent or the bills?    So you don’t get me or Jim wrong I will quote you some words directly from him when he says ” Now – it is noble to go to work to pay the rent, but if you could also parcel out part of your time – go to work to make your fortune.  Your whole attitude changes; your spirit changes. It is in your voice.  It is in your face.  It is in your gestures.  And then you can say, “I am now working full-time on my job and part-time on my fortune because I found a way to make profits.”

Wow….how amazing is that?  Slightly magical isn’t it?!!  What do you think on the idea of Wages Vs. Profits?  Have you taken any steps to learn how you can make profits vs. wages?  Are you teaching your kids these kinds of concepts?  If not, why not?

Tagged , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Wages Vs. Profits

  1. Ali says:

    So true, I think I’m going to cry. Taking action is easier for some than others. My plan is to hit rock bottom first, and then I certainly will succeed. I think.

  2. Adam Rogers says:

    Trying to make profits can seem intimidating as you dont know if your method to make the profits will work or fail. Most of us take this attitude in life, of trying not to fail. Many of us are not bold enough to try to win, thus we’d rather try only not to fail. Flipping the internal switch in our brains is what we must do, to change our focus away from failure, and toward success. Only then can we stop working for a wage, and start making our profits. So remember, we reap what we sow.

  3. Ali says:

    I read something at one point which said – never ever fear failure – because without failure there is no true learning and no true success.

  4. TSwain says:

    Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please🙂

  5. I lobe to scan you from my small urban center of Trouville-sur-Mer in France. I value the kind of data you show . Maybe another day, I will have the similar valiance like you . Regards, Jan from Trouville-sur-Mer.

  6. […] A very simple but powerful reason…. Proftis are Better Than Wages. […]

  7. […] A very simple but powerful reason…. Profits are Better Than Wages. […]

  8. edward lance lorilla says:

    Everything is very open with a very clear explanation of the challenges. It was truly informative. Your site is very helpful. Thank you for sharing!

  9. […] A very simple but powerful reason…. Profits are Better Than Wages. […]

Leave a Reply

